Beirut Band (listen online)

  1. Beirut - Vagabond (Official Video) 
  2. Beirut - The Rip Tide (Official Video) 
  3. Beirut - Postcards From Italy
  4. Beirut - Mount Wroclai (Idle Days) 
  5. Beirut - East Harlem 
  6. Beirut - The Bunker
  7. Beirut - My Wife
  8. Beirut - St. Apollonia 
  9. Beirut - After the Curtain
  10. Beirut - No Dice (March Of The Zapotec HQ) 
  11. Beirut - Un Dernier Verre (Pour La Route) 
  12. Beirut - The Peacock 
  13. Beirut - Le Moribond 
  14. Beirut - Cliquot (CD Quality)
  15. Beirut - Venice 
  16. Beirut - The Concubine (Live) 
  17. Beirut - My Night With The Prostitute From Mars... 
  18. Beirut - The Penalty 
  19. Beirut - Carousels 
  20. Beirut - Port of Call
  21. Beirut - Sunday Smile
  22. Beirut - Goshen 
  23. Beirut - Nantes (Official accordion version)
  24. Beirut - Scenic 
  25. Beirut - In the Mausoleum 
  26. Beirut - Santa Fe
  27. Beirut - Nantes
  28. Beirut - Santa Fe (Official Video)
  29. Beirut - Nantes (live) 

About Beirut Band

Beirut is an American band which was originally the solo musical project of Santa Fe native Zachary Francis Condon, and later expanded into a band. The band's first performances were in New York, in May 2006, to support the release of their debut album, Gulag Orkestar. Beirut's music combines elements of indie-rock and world music.

Early Years

Zach Condon was born in Albuquerque, New Mexico on February 13, 1986. He grew up partly in Newport News, Virginia and partly in Santa Fe.Condon played trumpet in a jazz band as a teenager and cites jazz as a major influence.
Condon attended Santa Fe High School, where he was a student until he dropped out at the age of 17. According to a 2011 interview[6] with David Dye on NPR, growing up in Santa Fe meant that Condon was exposed to Mexican music such as mariachi. He also worked at a cinema showing international films and this piqued his interest in Fellini arias and Sicilian funeral brass as well as providing his first experience of Balkan music.
He later enrolled in community college, but only attended for a short period before traveling to Europe at the age of 17 with his older brother, Ryan. This discovery and Condon's subsequent exploration of world music proved to be instrumental in the development of Beirut's melodic sound. Zach's musical legacy has also stemmed to his younger brother Ross Condon, who plays in the Brooklyn based band Total Slacker.

Gulag Orkestar

On his return from Europe, Condon enrolled at the University of New Mexico, where he studied Portuguese and photography. Condon recorded the bulk of the material used for Gulag Orkestar by himself in his bedroom, going into the studio to finish the album with the assistance of Jeremy Barnes (Neutral Milk Hotel, A Hawk and a Hacksaw) and Heather Trost (A Hawk and a Hacksaw), who became early contributors to the band.
On the strength of the recordings, Condon was signed under the name of Beirut to Ba Da Bing! records, and Gulag Orkestar was given a May 2006 release. Condon recruited some friends to play the music live for the first shows in New York, and Beirut was born.
Beirut's first official music video was for the song "Elephant Gun". The second video, which was for the song "Postcards from Italy", was directed by Alma Har'el, and was released later. 2007 saw the first release of the full band with the Lon Gisland EP.
Also, their song "Scenic World" was featured in the show Weeds when Shane's potential schizophrenia is revealed.

The Flying Club Cup

Beirut's second album, The Flying Club Cup, was recorded largely at a makeshift studio in Albuquerque and completed at Arcade Fire's studio in Quebec. The music on the album has a French influence due to Condon's interest in French chanson during its recording.Condon has cited Francophone singers Jacques Brel, Serge Gainsbourg and Yves Montand as influences. He also expressed interest in French film and culture, claiming this was his original reason for travelling to Europe. The Flying Club Cup was officially released in October 2007. In September 2007 they did a Take-Away Show acoustic video session shot by Vincent Moon. A DVD, Cheap Magic Inside, was shot but quickly sold out; in December 2010, Beirut, BaDaBing, and Blogotheque authorized its dissemination via digital download.

March of the Zapotec

On April 3, 2008, Beirut canceled a previously announced summer European tour.The band had already been touring and had completed the U.S. leg of the tour, but before the European leg, Condon stated that after two months of touring, he was suffering from exhaustion. Zach Condon explained the cancellations in a post on the official Beirut website, stating that he wanted to put the effort into ensuring that any shows would be "as good as humanly possible". In January 2009 the double EP March of the Zapotec/Holland EP was released, containing an official Beirut release based on Condon's recent trip to Oaxaca (March of the Zapotec), and electronic music under the "Realpeople" name (Holland).On February 6, 2009 Beirut made their debut television performance in the United States on the Late Show with David Letterman, performing "A Sunday Smile".

The Rip Tide

In early June 2011, amidst touring the US, Beirut announced that their newest album, The Rip Tide, which had been recorded the previous winter in upstate New York, was to be released on August 30. The band simultaneously released a single from the album, "East Harlem" (which was first recorded on Live at the Music Hall of Williamsburg ), with the B-side "Goshen". The album was recorded, managed, and released under Condon's own Pompeii Records. Reviewers and fellow musicians have noted that, unlike the prior albums which drew heavily on foreign music from Mexico, France, the Balkans, etc., this one has shown Beirut with its own, more pop-oriented sound; saying, "what emerges [on The Rip Tide] is a style that belongs uniquely and distinctly to Beirut, one that has actually been there all along." One reviewer noted that "the Euro influences [of Beirut's previous albums are still there, but the presiding spirit is old-fashioned American pop." This album also differs from Beirut's previous albums in that the music was recorded as a band playing together rather than laying down individual tracks one at a time, though the lyrics were only added by Condon after all the music had been recorded.


Condon plays a rotary valve flugelhorn and the ukulele as his main instruments. He bought the ukulele as a joke stage prop, but found he liked the sound and was able to play it despite a wrist injury that inhibited him from playing guitar. Condon also plays the trumpet, euphonium, mandolin, accordion, various keyboard instruments, and a modified conch shell that appears on The Flying Club Cup.

Live, Beirut's roster generally consists of:

Zach Сondon – trumpet/flugelhorn/ukulele
Perrin Cloutier – accordion/cello
Nick Petree – drums/percussion/melodica
Paul Collins – electric bass/upright bass
Kyle Resnick - trumpet
Ben Lanz – trombone/tuba/glockenspiel

Past members include:

Kristin Ferebee – violin
Jason Poranski – guitar/mandolin/ukulele
Heather Trost – violin/viola
Jon Natchez – baritone sax/mandolin/glockenspiel/keyboards
Tracy Pratt – trumpet/euphonium/flugelhorn
Greg Paulus – trumpet
Kelly Pratt – trumpet/french horn/glockenspiel/keyboards
Jared van Fleet – piano

The majority of the members of Beirut have performed live as well as appeared on recorded material.


Share Share Editor: nihavend | Posted: 2013/07/18 | Views: 13313


16 + 8 =
Home | Search | Contact | Terms